Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

Overarching principles

Four guiding principles should shape practice in early years settings. These are:

  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

The areas of learning and development

Jubilee Academy Mossley use the Development Matters document to ensure full coverage of the seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

Prime Areas –

  • Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
  • Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
  • Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.


Specific Areas –

  • Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
  • Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.
  • Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
  • Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

Our Foundation Stage is made up of one Reception class.

This curriculum is delivered to the children in our Early Years Foundation Stage using topics. Information relating to upcoming topics/themes is provided to parents at the start of each topic.

The Reading Journey – Year R

Theme                     Genre                      Author

Narrative                          Non-narrative                               Poetry

Autumn1 Autumn 2 Spring 1 Spring 2 Summer 1 Summer 2
Main Texts

 Fantastic Fairy-tales

Main Texts

Come and join the Celebrations

Main texts

Magical superpowers

Main Texts

Travel through time

Main Texts

Down in the garden

Main Texts

Our wonderful world

Charlie Cook’s Favourite Book – Julia Donaldson


The Three Little Pigs – Nick Sharratt


Goldilocks and the three bears


The 3 Billy Goat’s Gruff – Nick Sharratt


Hansel and Gretel


Snow White and the 7 Dwarves







The invisible String


Leaf Trouble – Jonathon Emmett


Lighting a lamp


The Birthday Invitation


The Scarecrow’s Wedding – Julia Donaldson


The Magic Sky – Lucy Richards


How to Catch an Elf – Adam Wallace









Room on the Broom



What’s your superpower

Dinosaurs love underpants – Claire Freeman


The Night Pirates – Peter Harris


Lost in the Toy Museum – David Lucas


See inside Castles


See Inside houses Long ago (NF)


Life on Earth – Dinosaurs (NF)


The Ugly Duckling




The Very Hungry Caterpillar






I will Never not ever eat a tomato – Lauren Child


How did that get in my lunchbox – Chris Butterworth




The Frog Olympics – Brian Moses



Rumble in the Jumble – Giles Andreae


In the Jungle – Axel Scheffler


Handa’s Surprise – Eileen Browne


The Wheels on the Tuk Tuk – Kabir Sengal


The Runaway Wok – Ying Chang Compestine


Emma Jane’s Aeroplane – Katie Howarth

Additional Texts Additional Texts Additional Texts Additional Texts Additional Texts Additional Texts
Think Big – Kes Grey


Kipper’s snowy day

Smelf the Elf

Sam’s sack from Santa

Bear Snores on – Karma Wilson



Meg and Mog





Dinosaur Bones (rhyming)

Stomp Dinosaur Stomp

The Best Loved Bear – Diana Noonan

Harry and the Bucketful of Dinosaurs

Hugasaurus – Rachel Bright


Growing Good

Ready Steady Mo – Mo Farah

It’s disgusting and we ate it


Solomon Crocodile

The Tiger Who Came to Tea

Something’s Eaten Stanley

One Day on our Blue Planet

At The Beach – Roland Harvey